Seventy two crews on entry list for Cyprus Rally 2016

A total of 72 crews from nine countries are on the entry list for Cyprus Rally 2016.

The event will take place from October 7-9 and will again, host two regional FIA championship rounds. One will be the tenth and final round of the European Rally Championship and the other will be the fifth round of the Middle East Rally Championship. It will also be the fourth round of the Cypriot Championship.

According to an announcement issued by the organisers, a list comprising the most important names from the European, Middle East and Cypriot rallying scenes, making it one of the most important entry lists ever, they said. The entry list for the European Championship includes 55 crews totally. Among them, nine from the ERC, five from the Middle-East Rally Championship and 39 from Cyprus. Subsequently, 12 more crews will participate in the Cypriot Championship and five other crews will only partake in the Super Special Stage.

Among the entrants there are big names such as ERC No.2 Alexey Lukyanuk with his Ford Fiesta R5 and ERC No.3 Ralf Sirmacis in a Skoda Fabia R5 but also the driver of Team Greece Lambros Athanasoullas in a Fiesta R5. Hungarian driver David Bodka will drive a Citroen DS3 R5 whereas German driver Marijan Griebel and Latvian driver Nikolay Gryazin will both drive a Skoda.

There will be a total of 56 cars with the Cyprus flag. Amongst them, 11 will be Turkish-Cypriot entries such as Fikri Macila (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) and Mustafa Bulutoglurari (Ford Fiesta R5).